China’s New Era

What will Xi Jinping’s vision of China as the global leader mean for the rest of the world?


Tuesday, November 14, 15:00 UK / 10:00 EST

Addressing the five-yearly Chinese Communist Party Congress in October, President Xi Jinping proclaimed a 'new era' in which China will assume a more active role in international affairs for the good of humankind.

The Congress saw Xi, China's most powerful leader in decades, strengthen his hold on the country's politics yet again. A leadership reshuffle filled the Politburo with his allies and associates, and gave no sign that Xi is grooming a successor, suggesting that he intends to remain China's leader until 2027 at least. Xi's name was written into the Party's charter, equating loyalty to the Party with loyalty to him, as were slogans representing his signature policies, foremost among them the Belt and Road Initiative.

Xi's record to date is one of political repression, economic statism and international activism in pursuit of China's economic and geopolitical interests. His second five-year term is likely to see this agenda pushed forward with renewed vigour.

  • Will China seek to supplant the United States as the preeminent international power?
  • Will China's expanding international economic footprint be followed by a military presence to protect its interests overseas?
  • Could a debt crisis at home undermine China's global ambitions?
  • Can China leapfrog the West to lead the world in new advanced technologies?

Share your thoughts on the above and put your questions on anything else that concerns or excites you about the future of China to three of Oxford Analytica's expert senior advisors in our special client conference call on Tuesday, November 14, 15.00 GMT, 10.00 EST.